Reflection Narrative

24 Oct

I found the research for this assignment to be quite difficult at times.  I did anticipate having some troubles finding an abundance of information for this essay, so I was open-minded and determined during the process of researching my delegate.  The first data base I used was the Accessible Archives.  I typed in Addison Lively many times using the different techniques I learned from the Boolean Research resource on Sakai.   I changed the order of his name, excluded his middle name, used the “or” and “and” techniques, and used other names of famous African Americans to facilitate my research findings.  After trying Accessible Archives, I searched around on all the African American Newspapers, Oxford English Dictionary data base, and the abolitionist archives, and was still unsuccessful in my research.  I attended Jim’s office hours and he introduced me to “Google Books” and ancestory.com, which is where I was finally successful in acquiring some information about Addison W.  Lively.  He was mentioned in numerous censuses, a Civil War registration form, a death record, and in a historical book about African Americans in Philadelphia.  The book was very helpful because it mentioned his affiliations with Jeremiah Asher and Elizabeth Greenfield.  With knowledge of these connections, I was able to find information about Elizabeth Greenfield and Jeremiah Asher which helped me discover more about Lively.

The biggest obstacle I faced while researching was that I was not able to find Lively mentioned in the dialogue of the convention, in any newspapers, or historical essays.  This was problematic because it made it hard to discover the significance of Lively’s life.  Also, without newspaper articles and historical essays I was only able to use one quote, which made it hard to back all my claims about Lively and bolster the credibility of my research.  Even with only one mention in a literary work, I was able to find a significant amount of useful information about the life of Addison W. Lively.  I concluded that Lively was not an incredibly famous African American during this time, but he was known in the African American community, especially in Philadelphia, and his delegacy at the National Colored Convention is testimony of his relevance.

Leave a Reply

